As you can tell, we’re a week away from the big release of Vitamin F.  I’m excited in a way I’ve never been excited before, not even when Dreams of Steam II: Brass and Bolts came out.

Since I’m a nice guy, I thought I’d share some exciting things with you, starting with a more advanced version of the cover:

Cool, right?  I can’t take full credit since Daniel Campisi did some Photoshop to even a few of the elements out.  It looks good, a bit menacing and I think it stands out compared to a lot of things in modern cover design.

Just as exciting is the first text that goes along with that cover.  Not the first chapter, but the cover text.  Ebooks still have these primers to give potential readers an idea of what the book is actually about.  With some advice from Clare McBride, I’ve come to this final version of the cover text:

Since the genetic crash eliminated most of the male population, Genetic Security had become the way of the world. Random genetic scans, registering males, laboratory fertilization—it was the only way to secure the gene pool from destruction.

As a college freshman Bridgett wants to fit in, find love, and enjoy life. Meeting Penelope has put her on track for at least one, if not all of those things.

Bridgett’s life is her own. Her genes, like everyone else’s, are state property.

It was only a matter of time until someone came to collect.

Similar to what I’ve had for the past few years, but refined.  This is a much tighter, aggressive bit of text, something that I think speaks to the heart of the setting as much as it speaks to the heart of its main character.

As for the first chapter, I think I’ll share a bit of that with you on Monday…

_____

Vitamin F will be released on July 12 for Nook and Kindle.

