Back in December, my friend Lyndsey sent me a facebook message telling me she had a copy of The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss.  I was the one responsible for introducing my friend to The Name of the Wind, so she decided to let me know about her good fortune…

…three months before I could hope to buy a copy.

This burned me up and frustrated me to no end.  Sure, I was getting messages from a friend I hadn’t talked with in a while, but she got a ROTHFUSS BOOK before I did.  Anger.

Time went by and Lyndsey told me that she’d managed to “sweet talk” a copy from the book rep to the store where she works.  In an attempt to be objective, I’ll simply say that Lyndsey is pretty enough, sweet enough, and willful enough to do this.  Suffice to say, if she wants something from a guy, the deck is stacked in her favor.

(Don’t misunderstand.  Lyndsey is smarter than she is cute.  Vitamin F has an ideal reader, a specific audience member I hope will approve of the book most.  That’s Lyndsey.  Other books have other ideal readers.)

When I heard Patrick Rothfuss would be in St. Louis signing books, I knew I had to go.  Rothfuss was funny, crazy, a great storyteller (he read an old humor essay about how guinea pigs are fish), and just a cool guy.  I got to enjoy the show with Jonathan and Rocky, two of my closest friends and the men responsible for me knowing who Patrick Rothfuss was.  As I was getting my books signed, Rocky took a picture to commemorate the occasion.

And when I put this picture on facebook a short while ago, I tagged Lyndsey in it, just to rub in the fact that I’d had both of Rothfuss’ books signed to me personally.

But it was a good day, I had a good time, but damn, I’m tired.

