It’s finally happened!  I’ve gotten something published!  I have a short story in a fantastic new anthology by a fine little press.  Fans of steampunk, I present to you, Dreams of Steam II: Brass and Bolts.

After speaking with the fine people at Kerlak Publishing during last year’s Dragon*Con, I knew that Dreams of Steam was doing well for them, enough where they would eventually put out a call for more steampunk stories to make up a second volume.  When the call finally went out in January, I set to work on a story involving Texas inventor and gunman Harrison Beaumont and the aristocratic lady Bianca Genevieve Smythe.

It klunked.  I couldn’t make it work.

It was an odd situation.  My characters were unique and interacted well.  I was stuck asking myself what I should do, especially since the story I thought of was so big.  The solution appeared finally–I needed to scale things back.  The story I needed to tell was about how Harrison and Bianca first met.

What I ended up with was a story about a man in a foreign land, forced with an undesirable situation, but is still unwilling to give up.  Harrison isn’t trying to be heroic, he’s trying to do the right thing.  Everyone is against him, either directly or through inaction, yet he marches on, knowing he can persevere.

This story, “Dreams of Freedom,” has just been published in the new anthology from Kerlak Publishing, Dreams of Steam II: Brass and Bolts.  It’s one of 25 steampunk tales covering a range of plots.  It’s darker than the first anthology, but it’s more driven than it’s older brother.  Why don’t you check it out?

As an added bonus, since you’re already here, take a look at this sketch I commissioned from the fantastic Comfort Love.  It’s Bianca showing off her acrobatic skills:

