Still taking part in Emily Suess’ Writers’ Week, I thought it would be interesting/informative to lay out a few of the plot elements I’m working on for the new short story “The Other Identity.”

(If you need to catch up on my Day 1 activities, check here.)Characters:

As I described before, “The Other Identity” will use a few of the characters from Dual Identities.  More than any others, I’m going to show Christina and Kathryn.  Kathryn, I think, will only have one direct line of dialogue, which will bring the entire story full circle.  Her role will be something in the background, a looming figure designed to unnerve Christina.

There will be a young woman, Christina’s student.  I don’t have a name for this character yet, but my thought is that this character will be able to see Kathryn trying to get out.  Christina will be curious about this and torn between training protocols and wanting to know what’s going on.

Structure:

The story will follow Christina and quickly show that things aren’t all right in her world.  Plush environments lead to torment and torture, though I’m not sure to what extent.  I’m letting the characters take control of this tale, since I am trying to keep it short.

Future projects:

I’m still looking to hear what you might think about my upcoming novel ideas.  Take the poll and share your thoughts.  I want to know what you think about my ideas.

