Lately, I’ve been trying to find my motivation.  I wouldn’t say I’ve had writer’s block, since I’ve been writing and editing, and I have no shortage of ideas.  My problem as of late was finding that drive within myself to do a lot of writing and editing.

Over the last day, I’ve had a couple of things happen to get me going again.First, I got a couple of things in the mail from my friends at Kerlak Publishing.  The bigger of the two packages was my contributor’s copy of Dreams of Steam II: Brass and Bolts.  It’s nice to have my copy in hand, to be able to put a book on one of my shelves where I can always see it and know that I’ve done good work.

The smaller of the packages I got from Kerlak Publishing was the icing on the cake.  I got paid.

As a writer, I haven’t been able to say that before.  It’s one of the goals of being a writer, to make enough money at it where I won’t have to do anything except for more writing.  While I might not have that much yet, it’s still a good feeling being paid for my work.

I got paid for writing a short story.  How awesome is that?

So, the second thing, the second motivator…

It’s no secret that I take inspiration for some characters from games I’ve played and things I watch.  One such character is Alindra Vordrinn, a character I made for a Star Wars game knowing I would have to use her as a villain.  I knew a couple of years ago that I would use this character in Tesseract.  If I had to pick someone to play the part right now, I’d say Anna Torv from Fringe.

What happened was that I had a dream about being on the set of Fringe. (What?  I really like that show.)  It was snowy, dark, and cold, as many of the episodes are.  What I can remember involved the crew setting up for the day and I briefly talked to Anna Torv.  I mentioned I wrote books and she said, “Maybe you should write something for me.”

I think I might.

