I’ve been fighting through NaNoWriMo and doing fairly well with it.  Tesseract has proved to be every bit the challenge I thought it would be, but not a challenge I can’t overcome.  What I’ve written so far, I’ve done out of order and I rarely stay with a single viewpoint character for two days in a row.  The exception to that has been my lead, Kahlan Rhhl.

So, progress.  Let’s take a look at how things are going.

Last year, I started a little behind, but caught up fast and stayed ahead.  Of course, I was cheating last year (like all good participants do), writing a large section of Dual Identities.  This year, Tesseract doesn’t have as much development, so what I’m writing is closer to the start of the project.  I’m still learning more about my story and I haven’t gotten into the higher-concept elements that come with the final act.

I’ve avoided the final act like the plague.  A villain who believes she’s god, time travel, a species that has to link to another species because of time travel later in the story–it’s a challenge, so I’m building to those parts a little at a time.

This year, my word count has stayed above the par line every day.  I haven’t blown away my progress or anything like that, especially since there have been two days where I didn’t get the daily goal, even though I’m still above the overall goal.  It’s tough and I think part of the reason is because I haven’t been doing much fresh writing this year aside from a certain short story.

Here’s another graphic:

The nice thing about these widgets is that they’ll increase and progress as I report my word counts on the NaNoWriMo website.  Ok, time to get back to it!

