This has been a recent thing running around twitter as of late: saying ten things about yourself that are illuminating and a solid note about who you are.  I thought I’d play, but I thought I’d put my facts together in one place to make it easier to see them all.1. I’m lazy.  I know, I know, I’ve heard it before.  “Len, you’re one of the most motivated people I’ve ever met.”  Maybe so, but I’m lazy and I can prove it.  Instead of writing more of my novel last night, I spent a few hours with this:

So, yeah, too many video games.  Like Bayonetta.

2. I write out of order.  It’s true, I don’t start at the beginning and work to the end.  I’ve been working on Tesseract for some time now and I still don’t have a Chapter 1.  I have a potential first scene, but that’s not even a page long.

3. I do weird things with music.  I’ll find pieces that work against the immediate tone of what I’m writing sometimes, but that’s not the weirdest thing.  I’ll listen to music while I sleep about twice a week.  Sometimes, while I sleep, I’ll listen to the Inception soundtrack.  That’s crazy.

4. Scheduling things.  I’m not the best at it.  Sure I could be better, but look at my blog.  How often do I post at the same time?  Better yet, how often do I post on a consistent day?  Not much, usually when the muse hits me.

5. Muse.  I have one.  She can be quite evasive at times, but she can also be outgoing and motivated.  I’ve discussed her before, but this is the closest thing I have to a girlfriend most times and she’s ten times as fickle.

6. Play-by-post.  I waste/spend a lot of time on these kinds of forums.  I’ve got it down to just a couple now, and only one that I have a significant presence on (I’m a moderator there).

7. I play the drums.  That’s what I grew up playing in high school and I still finger-strum a beat every once in a while.  I wanted to play guitar, but 7th graders couldn’t, so I went with the next thing that came to mind, drums.  I got hooked on the idea from Miami Vice.  Ironic fact: Jan Hammer synthesized all his Miami Vice music; no drums included.

8. I would love to be fit.  I don’t have to be an Adonis or look like I’m chiseled out of marble.  I just want to ditch the spare tire, look and feel a little stronger.  I keep trying at it, enough where I regularly pay for trips to the local gym (and use them, of course).

9. Wealth is not my goal.  What I want out of writing is to pay the bills.  I don’t need to live in the lap of luxury, I just want to be able to take care of what needs to be taken care of and have enough money on top of that to get things when I want/need to get them.  I’d like to have enough money from writing where I can travel and do the promotions I need to do.

10. Japan seems like a nice place.  That’s why I’d love to go there.  It’s not just a fascination with anime or anything like that.  I’d want to see Tokyo, in all its varieties.  I’d also like to take a bullet train to Osaka, so I can see the castles there.  It seems like a world of the past and a world of the future, all in one country.  I’d really like to go there.

Those are my ten.  Anyone else have a ten they’d like to share?

