A simple tale from the bookstore.

I was standing close to the front door of the bookstore where I work, greeting customers and seeing if they have questions that need answered.  One customer comes in, a semi-regular whose name I don’t know.  Nice guy, well-read, but like I said, I don’t know his name.

When he comes into the store, I say hello to him, he says hi back.  Then he takes a step back and asks, “You’re the writer, aren’t you?”

“Yes, I am.”

He knew a writer worked at my store, though I might have been the one who mentioned it.  Regardless, he knew I was a writer and started asking me if I’d heard of wordpress since a writer friend of his uses it and twitter to make contacts with writing.  As you can tell, I have heard of wordpress and I do use twitter.

This guy goes on to tell me that his friend mentioned all these things and he had the thought of telling the writer at the bookstore.  It might not seem like much, but a man I don’t know, went out of his way to share information about writing resources with me, just because he knew I was a writer.

It made me feel fantastic to hear him ask about me, not by name, but by the fact that I am a writer.  Not the up and coming writer or the aspiring writer, just as a writer.

