I picked up a copy of Mass Effect 2 for my PS3 a couple of days ago.  I know I’ve got a synopsis to finish and send off, as well as a few other pieces of writing.  NaNoWriMo creeps ever closer and I have a story to plan out for that.  There’s work to be done, and what am I doing?  Playing video games.

This isn’t a bad thing.  It’s really not.  Along with Babylon 5 and District 9, Mass Effect is one of the biggest influences on Tesseract.  There’s such a variety of species, in form, in function, in basic motivation even.  The idea that there is a legacy spanning eons rather than thousands of years, is also an informing factor.

I’m not going to totally immerse myself in the game.  I have other things I’d like to watch.  In order to do that, I need the game off the TV screen.  Unlike some people, I can multitask enough where I can watch TV and type.

Aside from that, jumping into a few distractions lets the mind process problems and ideas subconsciously.  That means I’m relaxing my creativity so it’ll be ready to go.  It also means that I’ll have more things figured out before I sit back down to write again.

