Something we need greatly as writer is a handful of good friends.  It’s an odd sort of conundrum, but without the ability to reach out and touch someone we actually know, how can we actually reach an audience we aren’t acquainted with.

I know it’s odd to start with a picture of some paper in a printer tray, but that’s not what I see.  I see a hard copy of Vitamin F, printed off so I can send it to my good friend Emily to look over.  I thought I’d found all the errors, but Emily corrected me on that particular point.

Then I have the wonderful people who read chapters of Tesseract for me whenever I send them out.  I don’t ask them for edits, only for their reactions to what they read.  Some, like the wonderful Shen and Hannah, are totally enthused by the text.  Mike takes in the text when he gets a chance, enjoying what words he can in the middle of his own busy schedule.  And while I don’t get a lot back from Samantha and Robert, I know they enjoy what they read when they read it.

My weekly meetings with Dan and Mike over Skype are more than just a note of accountability, it’s a way to get a feedback discussion going on what I’ve done, no matter if I’ve done good work or something that needs more attention.  It’s a good way for me to find out if I’m going in the right direction, using a consistent path, and not screwing up on grammar all that much.

I would be a fool not to mention my good friend, Rocky, who has managed to drag me along to Dragon*Con for the past few years.  I wouldn’t be published if I hadn’t gone, nor would I have met some of the finest and most interesting people I’ve ever met.

My point is this, writer friends: You might write in a vacuum, but when you want to do anything with that writing, you’re going to call on your friends to help you out.  Take a minute and thank them when you get a chance.

Or write a blog post about them.  Or leave a comment about the friends who have helped you on your writing journey.

