Being December, it is a time for crazy work schedules, later than usual shifts, and more grief from the public than usual.  Finding time to type in all that is hard, even compared to the battle that is NaNoWriMo.

I have been reading though…

I’ve been reading Spin by Robert Charles Wilson in the past few days.  It’s been a great read so far, though I’m only about a quarter of the way through it.  Before that, I read the latest novella from Brandon Sanderson, The Emperor’s Soul.  That was a magnificent read as well, since I was surprised how invested I was in the plight of Shai the Forger and her “art.”

A writer need to read good works of fiction to keep informed of just what good writing looks like.

Reading such things has motivated me on an instinctive level, reminding me just how to put words together into a compelling narrative.  I’ve been fighting to get any real work done on Tesseract, possibly because of how much I’ve been reading, but I’ve had to fight other distractions as well, more substantial ones.

So, last night, before I went to sleep, I shut everything off and thought, I didn’t get any writing done again today.  Then I remembered, before work, I got about half an hour of typing in.  I wrote more words than what this post holds–and I never count blog posts.  Half-asleep, I smiled.  Oh yeah, I thought.   I did type before I went to work.

Now, it’s time to do that again.

