I always like trying out new things, as far as networking games go.  Also, there haven’t been a lot of opportunities to just talk about me and what I do on a personal level.  The blog hop lets me fix that.

1: What is the working title of your book?

The Night Lands.  Fun title about a world that has constant overhead sunlight.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

Two things really put the concept together for me.  The first was playing Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne, which features an enclosed world and the sun constantly overhead.  Second was a group of friends playing Panzer Dragoon Orta one night, and I just had to figure out a story where I could write dragons like those.

3: What genre does your book come under?

Fantasy.  Dragons, a primitive warring societies, constant sunlight, five seasons, and there’s a city on the sun itself…  Fantasy.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I can almost see Famke Janssen as the Imperia Sorcha Kagatsu, a powerful priestess/mage and the closest there is to a main villain.  Either Lani Tupu or Idris Elba as the rebel leader Colonel Panzer.  I’m just tossing these out there.  For someone who casts his novels, I haven’t done that much with this book.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

In a brutal world trapped under constant sunlight, a young woman searches for a dragon and her destiny.

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

I suppose it would be self-published at this point, since I’m going to be posting it in segments online.  You’ll be able to check it out soon at http://thenightlands.wordpress.com  It’s also got a twitter page up as well, ready to let you know when new pages are about to arrive.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still working on it.  One of the reasons I set u the website mentioned in #6 is to keep working on it and to share my progress as it comes along.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I would say A Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire, but that’s more in how the chapter and narrative is broken down.  I don’t have as many POV characters as George RR Martin, but I use a lot of the same mechanisms to keep things going (unnumbered chapters, frequent cliffhangers)

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

A lot of this has been covered by question #2, but I should point out that NaNoWriMo not only helped me get so much of The Night Lands finished, it convinced me I needed to keep working on it.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Tell me another book where you’ll find death religions, flying cities, dragons, magic, dreamscapes, and colossi all in one place.  I can’t think of one, because The Night Lands might be your only choice.

Now, to have more fun with the Blog Hop!  Hop around, check out some blogs, and have some fun!

Orlando Smart-Powell:  http://www.smart-powell.com/blog/
