A year ago, The Avengers came out.  In the weeks leading up to that release, I was subjected to one commercial for the movie roughly 280 times a week.  My post at work was about twenty feet away from a screen that played the ad every eight minutes. By the time the movie came out, I was sick of it.  This wasn’t the case with Thor, Captain America: The First Avenger, or the first two Iron Man films.

Now, with the success of The Avengers, which was a decent movie, we have the next big Marvel release, Iron Man 3.

At the risk of writing a negative post, let me run through a few of my initial thoughts on this release.

First, there was the “Extended Look” that Marvel hyped up in February 2013.  I was curious and I watched this clip.  Watch it if you like, but, in my mind, this is a minute of my life I’ll never get back.

Next comes the Mandarin, who I have been anticipating since the first Iron Man came out.  I heard that Ben Kingsley was going to play the part and I got even more excited.  Then I saw this clip and my hopes were dashed.  It sounds like he’s using the worst stereotype accent possible.  I was even more disappointed when I saw the first full picture of the character as he would appear in Iron Man 3.  At that point, my thought was that he was a hobo with a bad accent.

So that leads me back to my initial question: Has Iron Man 3 been hyped or overhyped?

I’ve been a fan of Iron Man for many years.  The same box of comics I got as a Christmas present that led me to the X-Men also had a couple of Iron Man comics.  In 1997-1998, I read a lot of the Iron Man comics that were part of “Heroes Return,” a period that I think represents the height of creativity when it comes to Avengers-related characters.

When I see ads for Iron Man 3, I see some of that drive and intrigue that drove Iron Man through the years of Kurt Buisek writing Tony Stark’s adventures.  I also see the same science fiction arms race that drove the action in Iron Man, something that the sequel touched on, but never made a point to explore.  It’s this kind of action that makes me think they might have nailed it again for the latest version.

I don’t feel like I’ve seen that many previews for Iron Man 3.  I think Marvel is trying to make this carry more on the strengths of what came before.  Unlike The Avengers, where large success was not guaranteed, Iron Man is a proven commodity.  At this point, Marvel just needs to inform the public that Iron Man 3 is about to come out.  The tickets will practically sell themselves.

In short, I think this time, Marvel is restraining their approach, letting the release alone do the bulk of the marketing for them.  It’s a good position to be in and I’m glad they’re doing so well in that respect.  I’m sure, within a week of this being posted, I’ll have already seen the movie.

So I don’t think Iron Man 3 has been overhyped.  If it has, I’ve simply missed all the commercials for it.

