I’m trying something new–blogging by tweet.  This was posted from 11 to 11:45PM CST, June 23, 2014.  Full details can be found at https://twitter.com/sithlordlb

. It’s been so popular in fiction, we hardly remember what a utopia even is.

When I was in high school, was and . That’s it. In 1990s Southeast Missouri, we didn’t know . was too old. was just a novel. was a weird movie most of us hadn’t seen.

Now there are series for . , , . These are made for teens, but consumed by all. We have games too. anyone?

My question is: Why has become so popular?To answer that, we have to look at why people read at all.

I read because it was on the reading list and all the other books were checked out. I didn’t care about the book. chilled me in a way I’ll never recover from. I still remember the last four words: “He loved Big Brother.” chilled me in its raw plausibility, a nightmare society that could be traced to the modern US.

We don’t read to escape the real world. We read dystopia to make the real world an escape from our nightmares.

I wrote VITAMIN F not because I thought it would be a fun book to read. I wrote it because the story wouldn’t let me go. There has been too many moves against women, against gay people. Removal of rights and denial of freedoms are present. Too often, select groups “decide” everyone has to follow an approved form and conduct. What happened to freedom, diversity, or choice? When those fade, even a little, we step into .

When I see people’s rights and freedom threatened, I want to post a warning. I want things to get better, not worse. Anyone can say “Be nice to people.” It takes a writer to craft a story and a world that will scare people into improving.

thrives right now because we have a culture of fear. News is about fear. Wars are now against concepts, like terror. How far do we go before we celebrate fear?

As Yoda says, “Fear leads to anger, anger leads to hate, hate leads to suffering.”

I mentioned my warning against suffering, VITAMIN F. I’m proud of it.

VITAMIN F isn’t about an agent of the government processing how society works. It’s about a young woman trying to survive. I show a government agent who is determined to stand up for her society against any foe–a person or their genes. I have a rebel leader, determined to enact a god-fearing, male dominated society. But VITAMIN F is really about Bridgett, a first year college student who just wants to live.

Bridgett’s life is her own. Her genes are state property. It’s only a matter of time before someone comes to collect.

If you have a Nook, you can find VITAMIN F here. On Kindle, this is where you can find VITAMIN F.

If you read VITAMIN F, let me know what you think, either here or by writing a review. I want to hear from you.

—–

Note: The text above has been copied almost verbatim from twitter.com/sithlordlb.  I’ve left the content intact, even the frequent hashtags and mentions.  What do you think?  I’d love to know.

