In the movie Galaxy Quest, Tim Allen’s character has a line he delivers at the end of every mission.  “Never give up, never surrender.”  Sure it can be a bit hokey, but there’s a truth to that line.

The whole plot of Galaxy Quest deals with self determination and finding the will to carry on in the most adverse conditions.  It’s a fun movie, too.

What impresses me about that line is that it can be applied to anything.

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve had a change of employment.  My day job takes a lot out of me and it’s a challenge by itself.  The vast majority of my writing efforts now have to come during my days off.

When I do have time to write, I make the absolute most of it.  I went from having five hundred words on a day I don’t work, to writing over a thousand.  I’m not far into it currently, but I’m sure I can keep it up.  I just have to keep trying.

In other words, I won’t give up, I won’t surrender.

