Yes, I love movies.  I absolutely love Christopher Nolan movies.

There’s a point early in his new movie, Interstellar, that establishes the desperate status of the world and the intelligence of the main character’s daughter.  While this isn’t much of a spoiler, I want to give an opportunity to turn back before I say more.

The two words that terrified me are “Revised Textbook.”

Alone, that’s not a scary phrase.  In the context that textbooks have to be revised to explain that we didn’t go to the moon in the 1960s, but engaged in a ploy to bankrupt the Soviet Union, that’s chilling.  The idea that Stanley Kubrick directed the Moon Landing is one of the craziest and longest-lived modern conspiracy theories.

With so many people wanting to argue the validity of scientific facts–I’m looking at you House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology–it’s scary for me to think that someone could edit away progress and history.  Facts could potentially be revised to serve a social “need.”

While I agree we need farmers–remember, “No Farmers = No Food”–the lengths a normal society would go to in order to ensure that need was fulfilled, regardless of the consequences, is a small note of worldbuilding that delivered the desperation of world in the movie.

That’s excellent story work on the part of Chris and Jonah Nolan.  Good job guys.

