Remember, remember the Fifth of November

Gunpowder treason and plot.

I know of no reason why gunpowder treason

Should ever be forgot.

A growing tradition in recent years has been for many who worry about tyranny to watch V For Vendetta on November Fifth.  It’s something of a fad, but many have taken it as a time to look into their rights.  I’ve had an annual viewing for a few years, but this year, I’ve held off.

Original comic book writer Alan Moore distanced himself from the movie, stating the movie was “sort of recasting it as current American neo-conservatism vs. current American liberalism.”

It’s a fair point, at least to a degree.  Because of that, I’ve been thinking I need to do something more with my future noir novel.

Blanc Noir started out as a satire of sorts dealing with the clash of extreme neo-conservatism and timid liberalism.  My thought is simply, if Alan Moore doesn’t want his work reshaped to fit a different ideological conflict, maybe there should be a new story that explores that conflict.

I have this thought also because of the present string of governmental stagnation and the public’s general distaste for politicians and the money it takes to purchase them.  When compromise is gone, what happens next?

For me, the answer is I work on my novel.

