As a former employee of Barnes & Noble and a Nook owner, it seems odd that I would release a dark fantasy serial exclusively on Amazon. I’m not even a fan of exclusive, well, anything.

More than anything else, I wanted to give people a chance to read The Fanged Circle for free.

As of this writing, The Fanged Circle: The Knight costs $1. That’s my planned price point for every installment.

I can even tell you the subtitle of the second installment: The Witch. If you’ve read The Knight, you know exactly who the next installment will follow. If you haven’t… it’s only a dollar.

OK, you’re not sold. That’s fine.

People sign their books up with Kindle Select so they can use those free days (five out of every ninety days can be free). The idea is to use them to promote other books from the same author, especially if they’re in the same series.

For me, that means I’m going to set up The Knight to be free for a couple of days just as I release The Witch. After that, I’ll arrange a couple of days for The Witch to be free before the next installment comes out; I might even spend another free day or two at that point as well.

Ideally, I’d love it if someone picked up an installment or two at regular price, which is less than a cup of coffee. Depending on how nice your coffee is, Vitamin F may be cheaper still. (Don’t worry; I still have my dystopia on the Nook and as a softcover on Lulu.)

Some people have signed up for Kindle Unlimited. If you are one of these people, have I got a deal for you.

Kindle Unlimited users get any installment of The Fanged Circle for free any time they like. If you have that service, you don’t have to wait for me to put it on sale. In all honesty, I hope you don’t wait to read it–I get five times as much of a payout from an Unlimited user checking out a serial (and reading 10% of it) than I would get from a direct sale.

All this sounds a little crazy, but it’s not. I’ve done the math. Some writers have done great doing things like this. With this story, I didn’t see any need to make the world wait.

If you’re wanting to wait for The Knight to go on sale, don’t worry, I’ll spread the word when the time comes. Until then, it’s only a dollar.

