In the past few weeks, my progress has gone from steady to slow to stopped. There was no other way.

There are times where you just have to sleep. One of those times for me was around Easter, which is when this picture was taken (without me knowing it). I still don’t know who in my family managed to sneak my camera away to take this picture in the first place.

More recently, I’ve been trying to do a number of things: Make a better online presence. Draw consistently. Develop a new novel. Edit a damn good novel that just needs refinement. Start a good job. Finish all the training for said job. Keep releasing my resume to find better opportunities. Go on some weekend adventures with my friends. Make new friends and have fun with them. Sell more books in person.

That’s a list of things that have come in since I’ve gotten back from Dragon Con in the first week of September. Between the travel, the strain of trying to do so much, and only having so much mental energy, I’ve just run out of steam.

When anyone runs out of steam, they stop. No matter what needs to be done, there’s no movement. At some point, we all have to rest and enjoy ourselves. Even if we’re having lots of fun, we need a moment to look around and enjoy being alive.

For now, I’m going to get things moving again, doing my best to temper my efforts so I don’t exhaust myself.

