Yes, I’m a few days early, but I’m excited.

Many people have seen the arrival of Star Wars: The Force Awakens as a reason to call it “Nerd Christmas.” Since the franchise already has a similar (apocryphal) holiday, I’m using that greeting instead:

Happy Life Day!

holidays05

This is from the often-feared Star Wars Holiday Special (which I’m sure Bob Iger will get around to making a new equivalent of with a new Star Wars every year). I do not mention it to make fun or criticize, but to thank all of you for being spectacular people.

I’ve been fortunate enough to make new friends in the past year, writers big and small, creative forces on a large or personal scale. You’re good people, capable of a great many things.

For now, I’ll challenge you this way: when you see the new Star Wars, smile at those around you in real life or online and say what I said above, “Happy Life Day.” I’m planning on saying this to everyone between December 17 and 18, if not more.

Until then, it’s time to write and edit some stories. And I’m going to draw some pictures too..

