In late 1994, I watched the Hell Freezes Over Eagles concert special with my parents. During the show, me and my Dad would say things we liked about the songs, the ones we liked, the ones we didn’t like. For some reason, they didn’t play “Heartache Tonight.”

Never before had I discussed music with my parents. It was not a short discussion.

41ouyegko6l-_sy300_

For the next Christmas, I got my first CD player. My first CD was this one, The Eagles’ Hell Freezes Over. Mom got it for me because I’d talked about the music so much with Dad.

As I type this, I’m listening to it for the first time in… it’s been a while.

“Wasted Time” is playing at the moment I’m writing this. Also, it’s Memorial Day.

In my family, Memorial Day isn’t a holiday about soldiers. Our family has been lucky that or military members have all come home from their respective wars. Instead, we remember any who have died. A rank that is thankfully still small. Unfortunately, it still includes Dad.

So I remember in my own way. Not with sadness, but music.

Remember friends. Remember well.

