A few moments ago, I was sitting quietly in a corner at the local Panera. The store manager came up to me and asked me to move. He needed the area for a meeting.

It’s a simple thing. The staff at Panera has often been good to me. Surely I can move for them.

Even after I moved, I felt a little off. I’d picked out a comfy place to write and had to give it up. There was a taste of bitter to that pill. Why? Because I had to react to something around me instead of controlling it myself.

No actual harm or foul, just a minor emotional reaction.

Another example of a reactionary mindset:

I picked up a long-awaited package from UPS. Not only was this a gift, but an impressive one. Logic said I needed to wait to get home to open it. My eagerness and the curiosity of a few friends led to me cutting open the package and assembling the contents on the back of my truck of all places!

Why did I do this? I was reacting to the excitement of the situation, going as far as diminishing my better judgment to a degree. Still, having a 1/4 scale Jean Grey is a wonderful thing…

umfzkxv

